closeup of purple vegetables (eggplant, cabbage, beets, carrots, cauliflower) on a purple tablecloth

ampersand Inspirations

The Future of Food

  • A Benefit Event 
  • Speaker Ndidi Nwuneli
  • Fund-the-Future 
  • Sponsors 

A Benefit Event
for Hungry Minds

The Lawrence Hall of Science
University of California, Berkeley
November 9, 2023 5:00–9:00 p.m.

Join us at The Lawrence for an immersive evening exploring the future of food.

This celebratory benefit event included tastings inspired by food innovators, interactive experiences, a sustainably sourced seated dinner, and a thought-provoking talk from our featured speaker, Ndidi Okonkwo Nwuneli.

Four people are eating together and sharing a meal of various dishes

The Future of Food:
A Global Issue

The Lawrence Hall of Science is dedicated to preparing youth to face the challenges of today and to inspire them to improve tomorrow.

One such challenge: feeding a hungry world.

Funds raised this evening will help sponsor exhibits and programs at The Lawrence on the future of food, showcasing the many voices contributing to global food solutions, from farms, laboratories, and communities. Our exploration of the future of food will serve as a model for exhibitions yet to come that will explore other STEM issues with global implications.

A robotic arm harvests a tomato from a vine in a greenhouse
Professional photo portrait of Ndidi Nwuneli

Our Featured Speaker

Ndidi Okonkwo Nwuneli was named a Schwab Foundation Social Innovation Thought Leader in 2020. She has over 25 years of international development experience and is the founder of LEAP Africa, Changing Narratives Africa, and African Food Changemakers. A serial entrepreneur and author, she will share stories of innovative food business and farming solutions that are transforming Africa’s agriculture and nutrition landscape.

Attend as a Patron

Online purchasing is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.

$1,000 Individual Patron Ticket

  • Invitation to a pre-event VIP meet and greet with Ndidi Nwuneli and The Lawrence leadership
  • Listing as Patron in program and collateral materials
  • Premium seating at the dinner and talk

Tickets Only

$500 Individual Ticket

  • $50 Discount for Members on Individual Tickets

$300 Individual Nonprofit Ticket

  • Limited availability for nonprofit or educational professionals

$5000 Table for 10


Can’t make it on November 9? Your donation can still support The Lawrence’s work.


Sponsorship packages (table for 10) are available at $10,000 and above.

Download a sponsorship brochure.

To discuss a sponsorship, please reach out to Deb Danziger at or 510-643-0406.

All but $175 of each ticket is tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.

To purchase tickets by check contact our Development office at

Thank you to our sponsors!

Gold Sponsor


Silver Sponsors

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Sandia National Laboratories
William Knox Holt Foundation


Amplify • Linda De Lucchi • Rena Dorph • Joan Finnie • Paul Hertelendy • Brian Metcalf

Invest in the future

The Lawrence creates innovative programs, seeds new ideas, and increases access to high-quality science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) learning experiences for youth and educators both in Northern California and around the globe.

Innovations & Inspirations is the primary fundraising event for The Lawrence Hall of Science, supporting our work to inspire and engage through science discovery and learning in ways that advance equity and opportunity.

Your support makes this possible!

Ticket sales for this event are now closed. But your donation can still support The Lawrence’s work.

2023 Host Committee

David Ackerly
Jessica Appelgren
Glenda Humiston
Saul Perlmutter

The Lawrence Hall of Science Advisory Council Members and Emeriti:

Catherine Cooke Atherton
Paul Bartlett
Gibor Basri
Marc Bensadoun
Ayyana Chakravartula
Hollis Chin
Rena Dorph
Faith Marie Dukes
Roger Falcone
Alysia Green

Rebekah Helzel
Paul Hertelendy
Joyce Hicks
Gary Masada
Yumi Nakagawa
Sarah Brown Peterson
Don Proctor
Dan Shimizu
Ajit Smith-Iyer
Jirong Xiao